Miscellaneous Chengdu

The entrance to Renmin Park.

The hazards of a roof garden, leaks in the office.

The electric scooter is one of the more popular modes of transportation. They are silent, odds are that I will be hit by one before we leave here.

Waiting for the train to cross.

Did you ever take a picture then wonder why later?

My friend Grace gave me two small goldfish for my birthday. We named them Grace and Peace and put them in the aquarium with the bigger fish. They were fine before we went out of town. When we got back we discovered that someone had taken a bite out of Peace and Grace had lost an eye. I suspect the fish we call “Butthead”, he’s kind of mean to the other fish.

This is my new box. And before anyone says anything, yes I did need another box.

My Year of the Ox pillow from IKEA. 

This is Jennifer being diagnosed by the Chinese Medicine Dr. He pokes around until you tell him it hurts, then he tells you what is wrong. He found a sore spot on the back of my skull, just above my neck. He said there was something wrong with my head. Well….duh.

Katherine getting diagnosed. He felt her pulse in both arms. She stayed behind for treatment, the rest of us went to lunch. 
~ by Sara on February 17, 2009.

8 Responses to “Miscellaneous Chengdu”

  1. someone had taken a bite out of Peace and Grace had lost an eye

    Somehow I’m going to work this into a sermon some day soon.

  2. someone had taken a bite out of Peace and Grace had lost an eye

    Somehow I’m going to work this into a sermon some day soon.

  3. I’d hop a flight to Newcastle to hear that one!

  4. I’d hop a flight to Newcastle to hear that one!

  5. Did you ever take a picture then wonder why later?

    Sara, I have. More than once.

    A long time ago, when I was teaching school, we had three goldfish in a bowl in the classroom. As we were changing the water in the bowl on the second story windowsill, one of the fish jumped out of the net and fell two stories. I sent one of the boys to retrieve it, thinking it would be dead, but it was not. However, the contents of one of its eyes slowly floated out, until the socket was empty. But he/she went on to live a long and happy life with one eye. And then, there’s my one-eyed dog….

  6. Did you ever take a picture then wonder why later?

    Sara, I have. More than once.

    A long time ago, when I was teaching school, we had three goldfish in a bowl in the classroom. As we were changing the water in the bowl on the second story windowsill, one of the fish jumped out of the net and fell two stories. I sent one of the boys to retrieve it, thinking it would be dead, but it was not. However, the contents of one of its eyes slowly floated out, until the socket was empty. But he/she went on to live a long and happy life with one eye. And then, there’s my one-eyed dog….

  7. Mimi – Grace doesn’t seem to have any problems with just one eye. My husband maintains that she lists to one side. I’ve been hoping that the hole in Peace fills in. Sometimes having fish is stressful.

  8. Mimi – Grace doesn’t seem to have any problems with just one eye. My husband maintains that she lists to one side. I’ve been hoping that the hole in Peace fills in. Sometimes having fish is stressful.

Leave a Reply

 
